FCGH TweetUp: 14 Feb.

If you haven’t yet heard the word, the Framework Convention on Global Health (FCGH) is a proposed international treaty based on the right to health. It will be a legally binding UN convention to address health inequities and their causes, including poor access to adequate healthcare, food, water, sanitation, housing, gender-equality, etc. Importantly, it is being developed and advanced not from the top-down, but from civil society, including the folks and communities most in need of health justice.

To begin rolling the FCGH forward, we are organising an informal gathering — it’s the first #FCGH Tweet-Up, a friendly chat on Twitter to be held on the 14th of February. Three hours of fresh views, lively debate and the expertise of a number of the leading actors who have developed the concept since 2008.

It’s a chance to learn more, advance ideas, share some hopes and to begin the process of building a broad-based civil society participation in the Framework Convention on Global Health, for the benefit of all. The #FCGH Tweet-Up is open to all, and everyone is welcome to participate or just follow the tweets.

#FCGH Tweet-Up
Sunday, 14 February 2016

09:00 - 12:00 EST (New York)
14:00 - 17:00 UTC (London)
15:00 - 18:00 CET (Geneva)
16:00 - 19:00 SAST (Cape Town)
17:00 - 20:00 EAT (Dar es Salaam)
19:30 - 22:30 IST (Mumbai)
21:00 - 00:00 WIB (Jakarta)

WomensRights: Health

"Women have the right to the enjoyment of the highest attainable standard of physical and mental health. The enjoyment of this right is vital to their life and well-being their ability to participate in all areas of public and private." -UN Women

Health, in all respects, physical and mental, is a fundamental human right. It is the basis for well-being and participation in many aspects of life. Biology influences health, but so do social norms, political choices and levels of economic advancement—all of which contain patterns of gender discrimination. This means that full health eludes most women in the world today. Young women and girls, ages 10 to 24, account for one-eighth of the world's population. In many countries they are the primary provider for their families, not only taking care of the household but also working outside the home. Yet many do not enjoy basic human rights, including their right to health, which is linked with other rights, such as adequate food, water, sanitation, housing, etc.

Discrimination bars some from accessing the health care services they need, or renders them more susceptible to illness. It might come in the form of the man in the family who sleeps alone under the household’s only mosquito net. Or refuses to use condoms despite a high risk of transmitting HIV. Gender-based violence, a persistent epidemic in all societies, destroys women’s physical and mental health, and at times takes their lives. Early marriage exposes girls to the potentially devastating health impacts of bearing children at too young an age. In many countries, privatizing health care without guarantees of access for everyone has reduced services for women, and pushed onto them additional care responsibilities for sick family members. This leaves them less time to care for themselves, and to pursue opportunities in school or work to improve their lives.

Syndicate content